Site Logo Colorado Oil & Gas Satellite Watch

Colorado Complaints

Complaints

4082 None Operator: Invalid Operator INACTIVE WELL Description: To my knowledge, this abandoned gas well has been there prior to 9-17-52 as indicated on the B.L.B map inclosed. Resolution:
4034 WELD None Operator: Kerr Mcgee Oil & Gas Onshore Lp NOISE Description: ,NOISE NOISE NOISE The noise coming from this site is far above 80 decibals. Information from Anardarko stated that operating during daylight hours only. This is also not the case. I call Anardarko on 5/9 and filed a complaint with them. Of course have not received a call back from them eithe Resolution: See inspection document#691300194
4060 None Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: Complainant alleges impact to domestic water well from nearby oil & gas operations. May have been a nearby flowline leak in the past 1-1.5 years. Claims there is oil in the water well. Resolution: Based on water sample results and inspections of surrounding oil & gas facilities, there is no data that would indicate the water quality in the Schwisow domestic water well has been impacted by nearby oil and gas operations. Reference letter to Evelyn Schwisow dated 3/25/10 COGCC Doc#2605871.
4035 WELD None Operator: Crestone Peak Resources Operating Llc ODOR Description: Location of concern: Erie Village subdivision. Two blocks west of countyline road entrance. The fracking site is on the east side of countyline road in Erie, south on hwy 52. Issue: Strong oily/gas smell. Within 20 minutes of being outside I had a splitting headache and mild nausea. Resolution: Complainant was contacted and notified of CDPHE APCD inspectors site visit on 12/14/16. Inspector Joe Wright reported: I visited the site and the area today. I did not detect any odors in the area. Using the IR camera I did not detect any emissions leaving the site. Speaking with Crestone the rig is on well 3 of 15. They are operating 24/7 and they are not focusing operations at night. They had applied an "apple orchard" scent to the drilling mud to try and mitigate the odor. They have stopped doing this as the scent is alcohol based and they were worried this might be causing additional odor complaints. Crestone stated the drill is following standard practices and nothing out of the ordinary has occurred during the high complaint times.
4043 None Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Surface owner contacted J. Axelson and D. Baldwin to express concern about potential impacts to water quality and water rights from O&G development in the area. Follow up contact between S. Lindblom and surface owner determined that collecting pre-development water samples from springs, domestic well and irrigation wells would be appropriate. Resolution:
4076 None Operator: Invalid Operator ROADS Description: hard to get top Resolution:
4051 None Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Request for baseline water well sampling before drilling rig moves in nearby Resolution: SUMMARY LETTER SENT TO LANDOWNER.
1 Oct. 4, 2018 Operator: Extraction Oil & Gas Inc NOISE Description: The biggest issue is the noise from the operation when the compressors are running and the excessive noise when they are releasing pressure. There are NO measures used to stop any of the noise. Resolution:
5 Oct. 4, 2018 Operator: Extraction Oil & Gas Inc AIR QUALITY Description: can see visible fumes coming from the site!! Wind is from the east. Is there any air quality data directly connected to this frack sites?? Resolution:
4 Oct. 4, 2018 Operator: Invalid Operator NOTIFICATION Description: I reside in the Rangewood neighborhood in the City of Loveland. I am on the HOA board of directors for our neighborhood. Last night (10/3/2018) someone brought to the attention of the board the proposed horizontally drilling and fracking plan within the city limits of Loveland by Magpie Operating Inc. Myself and no one in our neighborhood has received any communication from Magpie about the proposed drilling, despite the fact that the drill pad is adjacent to our neighborhood and the horizontally drilling will go directly beneath our neighborhood. It is my understanding that regulations require homeowners be notified by the developer prior to filing and application with COGCC and are allowed 30-days to respond directly to the developer or COGCC with objections. If this is the case, then the procedures set forth by COGCC were broken, as no one in my neighborhood, including myself, were notified as procedure requires. I am seeking assistance from COGCC on what to do about this procedural infraction. Resolution: Per COGCC rule 305.a the operator must provide notice to surface owners if they are within 1000 feet of a proposed well or production facility (buffer zone setback) at least 30 days prior to submitting an application to COGCC. The COGCC has not yet received permit applications for the location described. Because the date of permit submittal determines the date notice must have been sent, compliance with this rule can not be evaluated until the permit application is submitted.
2 Oct. 4, 2018 Operator: Extraction Oil & Gas Inc ROADS Description: There are several trucks in and out of the site every day and large amounts of dust and rocks on the road. Resolution:
3 Oct. 4, 2018 Operator: Colorado Oil & Gas Conservation Commission NOT ENOUGH DATA Description: Location: Hidden Valley Farm Subdivision Issue: Our home vibrates all hours of the day and night. This started on Monday 10/1/18. Last night the vibrations happened approximately at 10:30pm, 12:45am, 2:20am, 4:40am and 6:30am. Resolution: COGCC does not have a regulation regarding vibrations. No active drilling locations within 2 miles. Complainant referred to the local government designee.
8 BROOMFIELD Oct. 1, 2018 Operator: Extraction Oil & Gas Inc AIR QUALITY Description: Location: Across the street from 15447 Huron St, Broomfield CO 80023 in the field on East side of Huron St, between Huron St and I-25. Issue: Appears to be smoking from the top of tank, maybe a leak? I do have a video and pictures if needed. Resolution:
12 WELD Sept. 26, 2018 Operator: K P Kauffman Company Inc WATER WELL Description: Water issues - smells, color change, unsafe to drink due to oil and gas activity on property services 2 residential structures. Water well issues include: Odor, Taste Change, Color Change, Flow Change Well use: Household Use Resolution:
10 ARAPAHOE Sept. 26, 2018 Operator: Burlington Resources Oil & Gas Lp NOISE Description: Location: Alemeda and Powhatan new location by adonea neighborhood. Issue: I and my family live behind the Alemeda and powhawton oil rig that was just built here and the noise is out of control. Last night as we tried to go to sleep could only hear a loud obnoxious beeping noise that would occur about every three seconds. Tons of truck noises and other sounds we couldn’t quiet distinguish. It was very difficult to try and sleep. Having the window open at nights as we used to is now not an option. This continued for many hours throughout the night and followed into the morning hours, causing a lack of sleep on my home Noise is described as: noise you hear and feel, continuous, thumping, beeping. Noise began on 9/23/18, noise typically occurs Evening, nights, early morning Resolution:
9 ARAPAHOE Sept. 26, 2018 Operator: Burlington Resources Oil & Gas Lp LIGHTING Description: The lights that come from them is extremely bright we have it light up our bedroom at night. Resolution:
11 WELD Sept. 26, 2018 Operator: K P Kauffman Company Inc SPILLS Description: Location: KP Kauffman Charter Schneider Battery Wells , NW SE Sec 33 T1N R67 W Weld County , WCR 19 and WCR 2, Storage Battery Tanks near residential house located at 8629 CR 2 Brighton, CO 80603 Issue: Multiple issues, most recently happening 9/24/18 with liquid bubbling from ground and flow line leak. Weld County Sheriff and Fire Dept was called to scene and documented that EPA needs to be contacted due to leak, damage and safety. Multiple spills and leaks that have not been remedied in past. Ground is "caving in" surrounding the pipes at battery tanks. Resolution:
13 LA PLATA Sept. 25, 2018 Operator: Hilcorp Energy Company ROYALTY Description: Location: Huber-Burkett #2-24 La Plata County Section: 24 Township: 035-N Range 008-W and Burkett 4-24 FC La Plata County Section: 24 Township: 035-N Range 008-W Issue: For 3 months I have received the same "estimated" royalty amount of $136.51 which equals the royalty received the last month XTO paid royalties prior to Hilcorp taking over. This amount is the lowest amount paid in approximately 2 years and I question if Hilcorp is withholding monies due me. I also do not understand why they are "approximating" royalties due me. Perhaps they are too involved in increasing well densities in New Mexico to pay attention to royalty owners in Colorado. I have not received this month's royalty yet. Resolution:
15 WELD Sept. 24, 2018 Operator: Extraction Oil & Gas Inc ODOR Description: Location: Johnson Trust facility Frederick Colorado, Extraction Oil and Gas Issue: This has been going on for months on and off, but this morning was the last straw. The lone standing tank on the very SE edge of the pad (the one with the wind sock) has been emitting an awful gray smoke and odor. It's been going on for 3+ hours this morning and the odor is nauseating. Making me light headed etc. And yes, it's still smoking as I write this. I've took pictures and video and am willing to share. I can't even let my kids outside to play it's so bad. Hell, I can't even open the windows of my house. I first started to notice this in about the last 6-9 months. I've actually seen flames coming out of it before. Now it's just the most disgusting smoke/odor I could imagine and it's becoming much more frequent (several times per week). It's making me and my wife sick and we're fed up. Extraction's neighboring facility (Bybee) immediately to the West has the same tank and it NEVER smokes like this one. All you have to do is look at the condition of the wind socks at both faculties. One is black and the other is bright orange Odor is described as "Burnt chemicals", source is 1000 ft north of the residence. Resolution:
17 DENVER Sept. 20, 2018 Operator: Colorado Oil & Gas Conservation Commission OTHER Description: t seems that COGCC and CDPHE employees don't take very seriously how the poisonous toxic fumes coming onto our property and into our homes out here in SW Weld County are causing health damages. Maybe you need help with your education around the Industry you seem to support, when you should be fining them and stopping them from causing harm to us. The TEDX video might help you with this matter. The Science of Fracking and Health Webinar Series METABOLIC DISRUPTING POTENTIAL OF UNCONVENTIONAL OIL AND GAS OPERATION CHEMICALS AND MIXTURES Research has shown hormone disruption in mice exposed during pregnancy to a mixture of common fracking chemicals at likely environmentally relevant concentrations. Dr. Chris Kassotis presents his new research demonstrating metabolic disrupting activity in the fracking chemical mixture, fracking wastewater, and in surface water near unconventional oil and gas operations. The study found all mixtures were capable of inducing fat cell development and proliferation at very low concentrations and identifies the likely underlying molecular mechanisms for some of these effects. The webinar is available for viewing now . Watch it on TEDX's website , where you can read more about the presenter and access the published study. Or you can view it on our YouTube channel and subscribe to receive notification of new webinars. Chris Kassotis, PhD is an NRSA Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the Nicholas School of the Environment at Duke University. He completed his PhD at the University of Missouri working with Susan Nagel to assess unconventional oil and gas operations as a novel source of endocrine disrupting chemicals in water, and the potential for adverse human and animal health outcomes from exposure. He is now working in Heather Stapleton's lab at Duke to assess the adipogenic activity of complex chemical mixtures present in indoor house dust and other matrices as well as to develop new assays to isolate and characterize novel endocrine disruptors in complex mixtures. SHARE Twitter Facebo Resolution: Health concerns are not within COGCC's jurisdiction. Complaint has been referred to CDPHE OGHIR.
20 ADAMS Sept. 20, 2018 Operator: Great Western Operating Company Llc WATER WELL Description: Location: SE 1/4 of NW 1/4 of section 36, R67W, T1S. Tucson Water Company is a small community owned water company on ~44 acres there in unincorporated Adams County, Henderson Colorado, near Colo State HWY 22 and HWY 85 (SCHAEFER 2536-1-4HC) Issue: As instructed by John Axelson, P.G. in an email to me on 7/28/17: 1) our small community water company is "requesting a post-drill water sample for our two deep water wells". 2) Additionally, a gas composition and isotopic analysis on the KLF well to check on the origin of the methane We paid for the standard COGCC pre-fracking water tests in 2017, shared our results with COGCC, and John reported COGCC would pay for these post fracking tests. Resolution:
25 MORGAN Sept. 19, 2018 Operator: Smith Oil Properties Inc RECLAMATION Description: Location: Oil Well J.A Farms #1, NWNE Section 20 T5N-R58 W , 05 087-0780, State of Colorado, Morgan County Issue: Smith Oil Properties inc were drilling on our land. We believe that the well has been abandon for over a year. They did not give us a notice of any kind and left our property a mess. Pumping equipment was left all over the ground. The fencing around the well is torn down. They left a very unsecured site, leaving my cattle in danger. The trash and other supplies are spread outside the area of the well. The road that was used to get to the well was not maintained and is eroding. The company did no remediation. It was our understanding that the company was supposed to return our land back as closely to its original state as possible. The well site was not properly cleaned up. They left trash all over the well site and the surrounding land. Including cement, pipe, and other materials. Resolution:
24 MORGAN Sept. 19, 2018 Operator: Smith Oil Properties Inc SPILLS Description: Location: J.A Farms #1, NWNE Section 20 T5N-R58 W State of Colorado, Morgan County Issue: Smith Oil Properties inc were drilling on our land. We believe that the well has been abandon for over a year. There were oil spills that were not cleaned up properly. We have no indication on how bad the spill actually was. Resolution:
26 MORGAN Sept. 19, 2018 Operator: Smith Oil Properties Inc RECLAMATION Description: Location: Oil Well J.A Farms #1, NWNE Section 20 T5N-R58 W , 05 087-0780, State of Colorado, Morgan County Issue: Smith Oil Properties inc were drilling on our land. We believe that the well has been abandon for over a year. They did not give us a notice of any kind and left our property a mess. Pumping equipment was left all over the ground. The fencing around the well is torn down. They left a very unsecured site, leaving my cattle in danger. The trash and other supplies are spread outside the area of the well. The road that was used to get to the well was not maintained and is eroding. The company did no remediation. It was our understanding that the company was supposed to return our land back as closely to its original state as possible. The well site was not properly cleaned up. They left trash all over the well site and the surrounding land. Including cement, pipe, and other materials. Resolution:
30 WELD Sept. 12, 2018 Operator: Dcp Midstream Lp AIR QUALITY Description: Please consider this an official complaint regarding smoke and odors caused by the DCP Mewbourn Gas processing plant at CR35 and CR38 in Weld County. Resolution: COGCC does not have jurisdiction over the facility described in the complaint. The complaint is under the authority of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) Air Pollution Control Division (APCD).
36 WELD Sept. 11, 2018 Operator: Extraction Oil & Gas Inc ODOR Description: Location: I live about 1000 feet from the RINN VALLEY EAST wells. Issue: I complained about this a couple of weeks ago, but it is still going on. The odor of diesel exhaust is unbearable with my house windows open, which I expect to be able to do, especially this time of year. Even with the windows closed I can smell the odor Resolution: Inspection in response to complaint. 18#200446244 Field Inspector Assigned: Adam Kraich Complaint Received: Date: 9-12-2018 Complaint Contacted: Date: 9-12-2018 @12:54 left VM, no callback Location #: 318981 Inspection Document #: 691300508 Nature of complaint: Odor Field Inspector Actions: On 9-12-2018, I received a complaint in regard to odor coming from the Rinn Valley East location owned and operated by Extraction Oil & Gas. On 9-12-2018, I performed a location inspection. Upon, arrival I stopped by the complainant’s property as it was on the way into the drill pad (approximately 1170’ north of the drill pad). I did in fact experience odors consistent with oil based drilling mud (OBM). I visited the location immediately afterward and spoke to rig management. I informed them of the issue, and they will be taking actions to mitigate off location odors. I have issued a corrective action under rule 805.b All information reviewed and site inspection information were submitted to the complaint specialist for further review.
39 WELD Sept. 11, 2018 Operator: Extraction Oil & Gas Inc ODOR Description: Location of concern: Front yard of my house/ Coyote Issue: This morning of September 9th, I walked outside my front door and was met with a veneer-like or paint-like smell. Not sure how else to describe it other than noxious chemicals. I live near the Coyote O&G pad and smell this smell at least twice a week, depending on the wind direction. If I smell it, aren’t I breathing the chemicals in? Odor is described as Veneer or paint-like, residence is 1500 feet west of the source. Resolution: Inspection in response to complaint. 18# 200446241 Field Inspector Assigned: Adam Kraich Complaint Received: Date: 9/11/2018 Complaint Contacted: Date: 9/11/2018 @13:50 Left VM, no callback for 24 hours. Location #: 319094 Inspection Document #: 691300504 Nature of complaint: Odor Field Inspector Actions: On 9/11/2018, I received a complaint in regard to the odors suspected to be coming from the Coyote Trails location owned and operated by Extraction Oil & Gas. On 9/11/2018, I performed a site inspection of location. I found all wells to be in the production phase, with the exception of Coyote Trails 34S-20-13N, 14N, & 16N which were shut in at time of inspection. The 15C had a snubbing unit rigged up and was working on retrieving tubing in the cased hole. The snubbing unit is not circulating volumes, and in the case of circulation being a necessity, fluids are engineered to be circulated through portable well testing equipment, with sealed containments and ECD combustors. Inspection of the production facility showed no areas of odor origination. No violation of COGCC rules were observed at the time of the inspection. All information reviewed and site inspection information were submitted to the complaint specialist for further review.
37 LARIMER Sept. 11, 2018 Operator: Prospect Energy Llc ACCESS Description: Location: Douglas Road and Hearthfire Way Issue: The smell is strong sulfur, pretty much happens all the time for us (Yay!) Resolution:
33 WELD Sept. 10, 2018 Operator: Dcp Midstream Lp AIR QUALITY Description: Please consider this an official complaint against DCP Midstream Mewbourn natural gas processing complex. The flare is still smoking. Resolution: Weld County. Resolution: COGCC does not have jurisdiction over the facility described in the complaint. The complaint is under the authority of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) Air Pollution Control Division (APCD).
32 WELD Sept. 10, 2018 Operator: Dcp Midstream Lp ODOR Description: Please consider this an official complaint regarding strong odor from the DCP Midstream Mewbourn natural gas processing complex. Resolution: COGCC does not have jurisdiction over the facility described in the complaint. The complaint is under the authority of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) Air Pollution Control Division (APCD).