Site Logo Colorado Oil & Gas Satellite Watch

Lake County, Col... Oil & Gas

Lake County, Colorado

Wells

COGCC has approved no wells operated in Lake County, Colorado.

Tank Batteries

COGCC has approved no tank batteries operated in Lake County, Colorado.

Pending Applications

There are no pending applications in Lake County, Colorado.

Approved Applications

COGCC has approved no applications in Lake County, Colorado.

Flowlines

COGCC has approved no flowlines operated in .

Pits

No pits operated in Lake County, Colorado have been approved by COGCC.

Complaints

The following 579 complaints have been recorded in Lake County, Colorado or have not been assigned to a county:

  • 2189 Feb. 29, 2016 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: Location is described as: T6N. Resolution: R91W.
  • 3611 April 30, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator ONSITE INSPECTION REQUEST Description: Landowners are requesting a description or diagram of the proposed drilling location; dimensions of the drill site; topsoil managment practices to be employed; and the location of associated production or injection facilities; pipelines, roads, and any other areas ot be used for oil and gas operations. As of 4/30/2012. No approved or pending PNR permits in Lincoln County. Resolution: Onsite Performed
  • 1394 July 24, 2017 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: Oil and gas facility at corner of road 38 and road 35. Noise that is loud Resolution: Insufficient information to investigate (location, complainant direction from location). No contact information was provided for follow up.
  • 3963 Dec. 23, 2010 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner contacted COGCC and requested that baseline water samples be collected from the domestic well (permit #177117). Resolution: Water sampled 1/12/2011. No oil and gas impacts noted. Good water quality.
  • 3618 April 23, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: COMPLAINANT CALLED 24 HOUR NUMBER ON SUNDAY 4-22-2012 AND STATED THAT THE SU 33-10-24-3 COMPRESSOR STATION NEAR HERE HOUSE WAS EXCESSIVELY NOISY - IT SOUNDS LIKE ENGINE IS FALLING APART. Resolution: FACILITY IN COMPLIANCE WITH NOISE LEVELS.
  • 941 Sept. 24, 2017 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: Location: Vista Ridge - Well in field north of Acadia and new well on Sheridan and County Road 4. Issue: I live in Vista Ridge. I have only been able to open my windows a few days this summer because of the smells from the oil well. The air smells bad. Odor is described as petroleum, residence is 1 mile south of the source. Resolution:
  • 3667 Feb. 13, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: Water well owner requested baseline sample. Resolution: Baseline sample collected and analyzed. No indication of oil & gas impacts.
  • 3614 March 8, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator DUST Description: Complainant called about truck traffic and stated he was asthamtic. Intergity Trucking is contractor working for Noble drilling rigs. Near Weld Cty Rd 52 and 89. Resolution: INTEGIRTY TRYCKING WATERED ROAD DAY OF COMPLAINT.
  • 3637 March 27, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator GROUND WATER Description: Mrs. Angely is concerned about water quality changes as active remediation stopped last summer. Resolution: No new water quality impacts noted after cessation of active mitigation program in summer of 2011.
  • 3666 Feb. 14, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator ONSITE INSPECTION REQUEST Description: Proosed location of ptroduction facilities creating unreasonable loss of crop lands; alternative locations for production facilities creat health and safety concerns Resolution: Onsite Performed
  • 3635 March 29, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator SOIL CONTAMINATION Description: DOUG GRANT IS CONCERNED THAT SOILS FROM JULY 2010 PIPELINE LEAK ARE NOT BEING REMEDIATED. Resolution: SEE REMEDIATION #5171. NOAV #200268806
  • 3662 Feb. 15, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Mrs. Cahill requested baselne water sampling from her domestic well in advance of oil and gas development in the area. Resolution: Water well sampling conducted by COGCC on 12 February 2012 showed no impacts from O&G activities. Closed per Alex Fischer. A Eckman
  • 2407 Sept. 15, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator ROYALTY Description: Overland Resources Resolution: LLC billed Champlin for ad valorem taxes. Champlin Exploration paid the taxes. Overland then deducted the taxes from the royalty payment. Champlin has been unsuccessful getting Overland to refund the taxes. I have emailed and called numerous times. No responses from the operator.
  • 2417 Sept. 9, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: A resident who lives on North Shore Circle Resolution: Windsor
  • 2430 Aug. 25, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator SOIL CONTAMINATION Description: LaSalle disposal off CR 49 and CR 34 by Select Energy Services Resolution: is allowing runoff from truck washing to get on dirt. The trench fills up and over flows and they just let is soak in. They put a new concrete slab down to contain it but they never fixed the problem. The ground around and under d the truck wash is contaminated
  • 3804 Aug. 2, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: operator was venting something at 4am this morning 8/2/11. Resolution: .
  • 3964 Dec. 23, 2010 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner contacted COGCC and requested that baseline water samples be collected from the domestic well (permit #210069). Resolution: Laboratory and field data indicate no oil and gas related impacts. Overall water quality good.
  • 2612 March 13, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: see above Resolution: Two COGCC field inspectors
  • 3700 Jan. 20, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator OTHER Description: Received complaint via e-mail in Denver office on 1-5-2012 from Mr. Ervin Mitchek. Alleging Vecta Oil & Gas caused erosion during Seismic operations. Resolution: Met with Ervin Mitchek 1/11/2012 on site and did not observed any evidence of erosion.
  • 3877 March 31, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator AESTHETICS Description: non shielded lighting Resolution:
  • 3882 March 29, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner called to request baseline water sampling in advance of O&G development in the area. SWNE Section 2 T6S R64W. Water well permit number 222483. Resolution: Letter sent 7/6/2011. Complaint closed
  • 3894 March 14, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner requests baseline water well sampling prior to O&G development in the area. Resolution: Landowner requests baseline water well sampling prior to O&G development in the area.
  • 2629 March 5, 2015 Operator: Extraction Oil & Gas Inc NOISE Description: *Location: 6N67W32**Extraction well*At approximately 6:47pm on Wednesday Resolution: March 4
  • 3923 Feb. 17, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Received request for baseline water sampling. SWNE 26 6S 65W. Permit number 165959. Resolution: Discussed with landowner that COGCC has one pending permit application in Elbert County in T6S R64W. At this time, will give priority to sampling wells in proximity to the pending permit. Provided website guidance and how to search for pending permits and how to search via MapGuide. Noted that COGCC would be happy to assist with providing sample parameters and lab contact information.2/15/2011
  • 1202 Aug. 24, 2017 Operator: Invalid Operator ROADS Description: Noise, dust, traffic, speeding traffic. We have 3 children! There are trucks speeding all hours of the day and night which cause concern for our children's safety and all the dust is causing health issues with our sons asthma. Drivers intentionally honking at horses causing them to panic which could cause serious harm to the horses and property if they were to go threw a fence. Resolution: Issues in the complaint are related to a County Road. The complaint has been transferred to the LGD.
  • 2330 April 25, 2016 Operator: Invalid Operator AIR QUALITY Description: I came home from vacation to find a giant oil well set up in our park in our small neighborhood. I received NO notice in the mail whatsoever and they have put a chain link fence around our children's playground (and our entire park) so we can't use it. There are noisy trucks going up and down our narrow streets, the well is very noisy, dusty, and smells like burning smoke. They have taken 5-6 feet of the street with their ramp so potentially emergency vehicles (ambulance, fire, police) could not get through. I see no permit. Resolution: Complaint was origionally filed on 4/25/16 but was not addressed by COGCC staff until 5/11/16. OGCC inspector was on location on 5/11/16 and observed the location to be done with P&A operations and new sod laid and being watered where the well used to be. OGCC inspector was not able to observe any of the complaints due to the time passed. INSP DOC#674103095.
  • 3921 Feb. 17, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Received request for baseline water sampling. SWNW 14 6S 65W. Permit number 99299. Resolution: Discussed with landowner that COGCC has one pending permit application in Elbert County in T6S R64W. At this time, will give priority to sampling wells in proximity to the pending permit. Provided website guidance and how to search for pending permits and how to search via MapGuide. Noted that COGCC would be happy to assist with providing sample parameters and lab contact information.
  • 3924 Feb. 17, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Received request for baseline water sampling. NWSW 1 6S 64W. Permit number 222785. Resolution: Letter sent 7/5/2011. Complaint closed.
  • 2736 May 1, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: Two issues: 1) prior to Encana drilling our water purification system filters were redish and now are black, and 2) I own a greenhouse and I have a 2,250 gallon waterscape where I grow water lilies. I cleanned it out this spring by draining all the water and cleaning out the old sediment in it. In that waterscape I had several fish, Bluegills and Koi fish. Within four hours of refilling the waterscape the fish died! That alerted me to a possible problem. Never had that problem before! I would like to have the well tested for possible issues. Resolution: There were no indications of any oil & gas related impacts to the subject domestic water well. The samples did not contain the organic compounds benzene, toluene, ethyl benzene, or total xylenes (BTEX), which are often associated with contamination from petroleum hydrocarbons. Neither were total petroleum hydrocarbons (TPH), another method used to indicate impacts from petroleum drilling and production operations, detected.
  • 3991 Jan. 3, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: Fiona Lloyd sent an email stating that there was a terrible smell of fuel oil (or something like it) at her house at 11.15 am (on Thursday, December 30, 2010). She asked if COGCC could ivestigate. Fiona Lloyd Juniper Ridge Ranch 1491 CR 237 Silt Co 81652 home 970 876 0268 cell 970 989 8273 Resolution: No violations found
  • 3926 Feb. 17, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Received request for baseline water sampling. NWNE 18 6S 64W. Permit number 143602. Resolution: Received request for baseline water sampling. NWNE 18 6S 64W. Permit number 143602. February 16, 2011
  • 3960 Jan. 5, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner contacted COGCC and requested that baseline water samples be collected from the domestic well (permit #197443). Resolution: Letter sent. No O&G related impacts noted.
  • 3962 Dec. 28, 2010 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner contacted COGCC and requested that baseline water samples be collected from the domestic well (permit #189407). Resolution: Overall water quality good. No oil and gas impacts noted.
  • 3966 Jan. 25, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner contacted COGCC and requested that baseline water samples be collected from the domestic well (permit #163662). Resolution: No analytes detected above WQCC standards.
  • 3998 Oct. 27, 2010 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner requested that his water well be sampled prior to drilling in the area. Resolution: At present there is no data that would indicate the water quality in your well has been impacted by nearby oil and natural gas drilling and operations PER letter by Linda Spry O'Rourke dated June 28, 2012.
  • 4025 Oct. 19, 2010 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Land owner requested that her second well be sampled prior to drilling nearby Resolution: SUMMARY LETTER SENT TO LANDOWNER.
  • 1945 Feb. 7, 2017 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: Windsor - over a large area - smelled at several places. Not sure but given the wells Extraction has going both to the north and south (winds are variable this afternoon). smells like sulfur...acetone? Resolution: Complaint was transferred to CDPHE APCD. Complainant was notified of the transfer and provided APCD contact information.
  • 2838 Feb. 5, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: *location: West of York St CR11 and between 12 & 10 East of the Colorado National Speedway. Noise & light 24 hours a day. Its a pipeline construction. Resolution: COGCC does not have authority over mid-stream operations; therefore no noise survey was conducted.
  • 3484 Oct. 1, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: Ms. Babin said the pit smells bad. Resolution: Detected faint odor (barely detectable) at edge of pit downwind, not detectable from a distance, winds were light (2-5 mph) from the SW.
  • 3937 Feb. 17, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Received request for baseline water sampling. Resolution: Discussed with landowner that COGCC has one pending permit application in Elbert County in T6S R64W. At this time, will give priority to sampling wells in proximity to the pending permit. Provided website guidance and how to search for pending permits and how to search via MapGuide. Noted that COGCC would be happy to assist with providing sample parameters and lab contact information.
  • 3694 March 29, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner called to request baseline water sampling in advance of O&G development in the area. SWNE Section 2 T6S R64W. Water well permit number 222483. Resolution: Letter sent 7/6/2011. Complaint closed
  • 4073 Aug. 30, 2010 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: Mr. Roark called to request that his water well be sampled prior to Antero drilling nearby. Resolution: SUMMARY LETTER SENT TO LANDOWNER.
  • 2668 Jan. 23, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: Nightly noise Resolution: as if living near an airport listening to a jet warm up before takeoff. This location is about a half mile north
  • 2280 June 14, 2016 Operator: Invalid Operator OTHER Description: Issues are dispersed across several locations: NW Quarter of Section 6 2S 56 W, NW Quarter Section 8, entirety of section 6. There are powerlines in the middle of a field for no reason. The lines make a large horseshoe type loop. The lines should be straight across. Some lines are down. Resolution: Same complaint issue/resolution as Complaint #200439670.
  • 2188 March 3, 2016 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: Complainant describes location of concern as: Geisick # 32-32 Resolution: Las Animas County
  • 3821 July 15, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator SURFACE WATER Description: CBM water outfall (from Eichler property) is discharged directly into SawMill spring which intersects the Apishapa River. The EC reading upstream of the SawMill intersection was 0.73 and the EC reading on the Apishapa downstream of the SawMill intersection was 1.17 (sampled on July 3, 2011 on Apishapa). Uncontained fracing chemicals from any of the associated wells feeding the outfall would have entered SawMill and the Apishipa. There is no verification system (monitoring over time) to assure protection of surface and groundwater from fracing chemicals and CBM water salts. The buildup of alkalinity is appearing downstream on Ranch in the soils from the CBM water. Foam from the wells is reaching the SawMill spring. Resolution: Forwarded Pioneer response to Mr. Valentine by email along with discussion regarding CPDHE having sole authority in Colorado over permitted discharges to surface water.
  • 480 Jan. 5, 2018 Operator: Invalid Operator ROADS Description: Also, with the construction of the new Mewbourn III plant, the dust on RD 35 has been terrible. DCP is supposed to be watering the road, but is failing to do so. Resolution: COGCC does not have jurisdiction over the midstream facility described in the complaint. The complaint was transmitted to the PUC and Weld County LGD. Contact information for both was provided to the complainant.
  • 232 Feb. 5, 2018 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: 24/7 noise from a motor running at a well site Resolution: No peace at all. Avoidable disturbances to our lives for their profit.
  • 2144 April 25, 2016 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: well is very noisy Resolution: dusty
  • 1431 July 6, 2017 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: Whenever Encana drills up on the mesa they go through my aquifer. Before, when they drilled they tested my water once a year. They also impact the water and springs when they are cutting roads. I need the test ASAP. I am not poking the holes, so I will not pay for the test. I need a new baseline water test. I also need a test for my brother's well. I am his point of contact and have his Power of attorney. Daric Closs, 5005 Grass Mesa Road, Rifle CO 81650. Both wells are domestic use. Mine was drilled in 1995, my brother's in 2005. The wells were last sampled about 4 years ago. Resolution: Caerus declined to sample Mr. Closs wells because they have no plans for any new Oil & Gas activity in the area. On August 25, 2017, COGCC sub-contractor LT Environmental sampled Mr. Closs water wells to assess the quality of groundwater drawn from his domestic wells. The water samples were analyzed for general organic and inorganic constituents, dissolved methane, and evaluated for nuisance bacteria. On October 24, 2017, COGCC emailed the report to Mr. Closs. On October 25, 2017, COGCC mailed a hard copy of the report to Mr. Closs. The conclusions of the report were that no hydrocarbon impact or methane had been detected in the wells. Slime forming bacterias and Iron bacteria were not detected either. Sulfate-reducing bacteria was detected. Recommendation was to consider yearly maintenance of the wells.
  • 2381 Oct. 13, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: Complainant reports: After 14 years of a peaceful neighborhood Resolution: we started hearing noise in the night in mid-summer. It is a low mechanical
  • 3296 Oct. 1, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: Ms. Babin said the pit smells bad. Resolution: Detected faint odor (barely detectable) at edge of pit downwind
  • 3317 Aug. 28, 2012 Operator: Bp America Production Company PROPERTY DAMAGE Description: Gas seeps on Outcrop are increasing. Wants to know what BP is going to do about it. Resolution: Civil issue. Provided data to Mr. Varcoe and referred him back to BP. NFA.
  • 3327 Aug. 14, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: Landowner noticed recent change in water quality in domestic water well and is unsure of the cause. Would like water tested. Resolution: Water well sample results show no evidence of any O&G impacts. Please see file for data
  • 3788 Jan. 19, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator ROADS Description: Mr. Jolly states the road into the Jolly Ranch 10-5 has not been maintained and lease traffic has deviated off the main road. Resolution: NOAV issued for excessive travel beyond boundaries of lease road.
  • 2551 Oct. 27, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: Complainant reports, "There is currently (8:05pm) a loud humming noise that penetrates thru the walls in my home, this noise has been going on all day since 9am that I am aware of....very frustrating since I can not get away from it. Location is South and East of residence" (11755 CR 15, Longmont, CO). Locations to the SE of the residence include API 123-22664 (Kerr-McGee) and Location # 433854 (Encana, 7 wells). Resolution: Area resident filed a formal complaint regarding a "humming" noise coming from the VOGL_GEIST location. OGCC staff was on location on the afternoon of 10/27/15 to investigate the noise, however wind speeds were too high to run a sound survey and no noise source was identified. OGCC staff returned to the location on the morning of 10/28/15. OGCC staff did observe a noise coming from the wellheads on location and a sound survey was run. The survey was run 350 ft from the wellheads at 40.16905, -104.92275. The separators on location were 144 ft from the survey location. A scale average for the survey was 47.3 DB. Inspection DOC#674102719
  • 2556 Oct. 20, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator SPILLS Description: Location of spill is 1671 CR 63 Keenesburg, Co 80643. Immediately in front of house on county road and extending onto our property.Pipeline leak. The pipeline has been shut down so no longer leaking but damage is already done. Company is DCP Midstream. I talked to Alex Hodson out of the Roggen office.Phone #303-849-5541. Complainant indicated that the area of the spill is approximately 50 in length. Ran into road ditch. The pipeline is buried, so the complainant was not able to determine how much was released prior to surfacing. Resolution: DCP Midstream reported release as spill #400921545. Starting clean-up work on 10/21/15. All clean-up work under rule 906.c.
  • 2589 Sept. 25, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator ROYALTY Description: Case 535 Docket 151000620 Conoco Phillips Hearing Protest Rule 509 question Our mineral interest was in Leasehold with Conoco Phillips in this drilling unit. Upon lease expiration Conoco Phillips refused to honor the terms of extension. These terms were clearly negotiated, written and recorded. Conoco offered a fraction of the negotiated amount and refused to honor our extension. Conoco Phillips' position was a default that they would simply force pool us if we didn't accept the lower offer. I understand and agree with the rule and spirit of forced pooling. When folks are loggerheads, a system as such is valuable and fair. I also believe forced pooling threat in negotiation is reasonable when a lease is not existent and without extension terms. My complaint is that Conoco Phillips is using forced pooling unfairly; as a default strategy to negotiate a better deal. Conoco Phillips is abusing this needed system to put themselves in a superior financial place and at the expense of the small mineral owner. In principle, we refused Conoco Phillips abuse of the forced pooling system and didn't accept ConocoPhillips' offer. We plead to the commission for accountability and ethical practice by Conoco Phillips. We wish nothing more than Conoco Phillips to honor their agreement. We appeal to the COGCC to shine some light and accountability on Conoco Phillips' abuse of the forced pooling system. Resolution: I contacted Ron to address what can be done if there is a lease expiration prior to the statutory pooling. I explained the statute and Rule 530.
  • 527 Dec. 12, 2017 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: Location: Don’t know Issue: Loud metal banging at 2 AM. Sounded like a sledgehammer on metal. Resolution:
  • 2607 Sept. 3, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: I think it's off of CR-13 between Crossroads and CO-392 on the east side of CR 13 , but there are several wells in this vicinity so unsure. strong chemical/petroleum/solvent-type odors over the last couple of weeks, particularly this morning and one evening about a week or so ago. Not feeling safe about my air quality. Resolution:
  • 922 Sept. 26, 2017 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: I am surrounded by gas wells here in the Raton basin. I live in Wet Canyon, in Las Animas County.I have concerns about water quality and water quantity. I have a water well that is my source of drinking water and irrigation water for my farm. I water to get water testing done on my well to make sure it has not been effected by the oil and gas development in the area. I have also had significant loss of water as it pertains to my well over the years and would like to get that documented through the COGCC. Resolution: Analytical results from October 2017 sampling do not show any change from previous sampling events. Overall the quality of the water from the complainants well is good. No impacts from local coal bed methane activity were found.
  • 3826 July 7, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner called to requets baseline water sampling in advance of oil and gas activity in the area. Section 28 T7s R64W. Water well permit number 258014. Elbert County. Resolution: Notified Mr. Zlatev that lab pH was not measured due to oversight by COGCC contractor and that field pH was abnormaly high. COGCC may need to resample well for lab pH if laboratory has not retained sufficient sample volume to test for pH. Mr. Zlatev expressed appreciation for the call.
  • 3624 July 20, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator NOTIFICATION Description: Chevron did not notify landowners prior to excavation work on produced water flowline. Numerous young ponderosa trees were removed that the owner would have transplanted w/ notice. Resolution: 7-day notification does not extend to pipelines. Consultation is required
  • 3703 March 18, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: D Kubeczko received phone call from Nate Dutton (970) 285-1920 at about 9 a.m. 3/18. He was very agitated (1) by noise/venting from Wallace Creek Compressor and (2) the perceived non-responsiveness of the COGCC personnel. The compressor was extremely loud Resolution: scaring his horses. Mr. Dutton lives ~ 1/4 mile east of the facility. (306 Road
  • 3786 Jan. 19, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator FENCING Description: Mr. Jolly states that the fencing needs repair around production equipment at Jolly Ranch 4-13 Resolution: 16-1 and 2-1.
  • 3731 Feb. 17, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Received request for baselione water sampling. NWSW 10 6S 65W. Permit number 045869-F. Resolution: Received request for baselione water sampling. NWSW 10 6S 65W. Permit number 045869-F.
  • 3732 Feb. 17, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Received request for baseline water sampling. NESW 10 6S 65 W. Permit number 45215. Resolution: Discussed with landowner that COGCC has one pending permit application in Elbert County in T6S R64W. At this time
  • 2758 April 1, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator LAND USE CONFLICT Description: *Location: Regnier Farms, Inc 500 County Road 20 Longmont CO 80504* Marc Morton, P.G. was on our property with Amanda (Anne) Harper. I asked first who they are, then asked if they knew they were trespassing. Mr. Morton said he is not trespassing, he has a right to be on any oil/gas well site in the state of Colorado anytime he wants. I asked how he has a right to invite Ms. Harper onto our property. He said he invited no one. I asked how she has a right to invite him on and he repeated that he can go wherever he wants on gas/oil sites. I asked why he brought her onto our property because we do not want her here and he said he is inspecting a well site and then he showed me that he had permitting papers. I told him I am very happy with EnCana and how respectful and kind they have always been with us and that I want them to go ahead with the drilling. He told me that he was there only to inspect the well site. Does Mr. Morton have a right to come onto our property at any time without our permission, and does he have a right to bring onto our property someone who we absolutely do not want on our property? Resolution: The Director discussed this issue with staff to reinforce that COGCC staff are not allowed to take private citizens on oil and gas locations without prior approval. The Director also called the complainant to discuss the issue.
  • 2604 March 16, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: the noise has been an issue since they started Resolution: but it has been particularly louder in the past week.
  • 3750 Feb. 17, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: Due to past water well complaint Resolution: COGCC collected sample from well in July 2008 (Ref Complaint #200192755). Results indicated biogenic methane unrelated to O&G. Complainant has noticed a change in water since last sample described as a different odor. Also
  • 3751 Feb. 10, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator ONSITE INSPECTION REQUEST Description: Received onsite request from landowner. Contacted landowner. No specific issues a t his time but wanted opportunity to have onsite if SUA negotiations do not work out. Resolution: Complaint closed. Memo sent to landowner and Andy Peterson.
  • 498 Dec. 22, 2017 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: Location: County Road 10 and County Road 15/17 Brighton, Colorado. Water well location: Our water has gotten cloudier and a lot more odor. All of us in the area, are not able to drink the water as it is has such a horrible odor. It will stink up the entire house, and is getting cloudier and cloudier despite the different treatment systems we all have. All the wells that have gone up around us, in the last few years, and now the ground water that has tested positive for a cancer causing agent, is extremely scary. The neighborhood of County Road 17 between Roads 10 and 8, would appreciate our water being tested and to be sure that our water has not been contaminated with the Benzene. Issue: Our water has gotten cloudier and a lot more odor. All of us in the area, are not able to drink the water as it is has such a horrible odor. It will stink up the entire house, and is getting cloudier and cloudier despite the different treatment systems we all have. All the wells that have gone up around us, in the last few years, and now the ground water that has tested positive for a cancer causing agent, is extremely scary. The neighborhood of County Road 17 between Roads 10 and 8, would appreciate our water being tested and to be sure that our water has not been contaminated with the Benzene. Well age: 19 years Well use: Household Use Water issues: Odor, Taste Change, Deposits Resolution: Samples were collected from the subject water well for lab analysis. Analytical results did not indicate any impacts from oil & gas activities. Lab reports and a letter summarizing the were sent to the well owner.
  • 3774 Dec. 28, 2010 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner contacted COGCC and requested that baseline water samples be collected from the domestic well (permit #189407). Resolution: Overall water quality good. No oil and gas impacts noted.
  • 1850 Dec. 22, 2016 Operator: Invalid Operator OTHER Description: I have a rash on my arms and chest Resolution: that I have had since September. The doctor has been unable to pinpoint a medical cause. With the heavy oil and gas activity in the area
  • 2759 April 1, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator ACCESS Description: *Location: Coordinates: 39.420810, -107.623258: divide creek area. Well pad is located off road 343 between cr 342 and cr311. There are actually two pads on that road that are being reclaimed. The first pad is on Jim Toomer's property and the pad with the road is down from that pad. I have no well number. The road is across from our house and that address is 0416 cr 343* I am concerned about the road that was created by Encana to access their well pad and also the electric lines that were put in now that the well pad is being reclaimed. This road was created to access the well and now - is it a deeded right of way? I am concerned that the road will be used for housing development and impact our ranching operation. Already the road goes thru three different properties. If you are reclaiming well pads shouldn't roads and electric lines be a part of that. Are these things up to county codes and approval. Encana is going to great lengths to put the land back to original state and they say it is because of the COGCC 's rules and regs. but what about roads and power lines. Please look into this and let me know Resolution: I Preformed Field Inspection document number 666800867. The access road in question does not cross Rosemary Patterson property. Rosemary property is to the North of the location. As she has stated, she is concerned that if Encana does not remove the access road and electric lines, that the access road will be used to access a housing development. Which would add vehicle traffic to the area? Talk to 3rd party contractor working on location. Contractor stated they have no plans to reclaim the access road or electric vaults or electric lines to location. Contractor also stated they are leaving the concrete pad and electric box on location at the request of the land owner.
  • 2760 April 1, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: It is 3-31-2015 2220 hrs the noise is very loud inside the house, It is coming from the well being drilled less than 1/2 mile east south east of this house. Sunday we had fumes from the same well when they had a fracture down it the drilling and they produced a 20 foot + flame from 0300 3-29-2015 untill they could get Baker-Hughes respond to the site to concrete and close the fracture at about 2000 hrs on 3-29-2015. Resolution: Complaint DOC#200428104. Complainant was concerned about noise and odors coming from the drilling rig. Odors came from the flare as the rig was circulating after setting production casing and the winds were in the right direction to bring the odor to the complainant’s house. Rig is moving the flare to remedy the problem. OGCC staff was on location on 4/3/15 and ran a sound survey 25 ft from the complainant’s house. During the survey the rig was drilling. Winds were calm during the survey. C scale average for the survey was 68.3 db, however this was biased by a barking dog at the beginning of the survey. C scale reading during drilling ranged from 57 to 59 db, Inspection DOC#674102184
  • 3849 Nov. 2, 2010 Operator: Pdc Energy Inc BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: PDC plans 8 wells on property adjacent to Simmons property. Simmons would like baseline samples collected from his water well. Resolution: Subject permits adjacent to complainant property were abandoned (AL) in April 2011. Wells were repermitted in May 2011 on complainant's property
  • 3830 June 29, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: Complainant came back after weekend and had black stains on water fixtures. Also noticed an oily odor associated with water. There are O&G wells being frac'd and drilled within 1-mile of residence and they are concerned the changes in the water could be related to oil & gas activity. Resolution: The water sample collected from the Cottrell water well contained iron, manganese, sulfate and Total Dissolved Solids above the CDPHE secondary drinking water standards. None of the analyzed constituents exceeded the CDPHE primary drinking water standards. The water sample did not contain concentrations of BTEX or TPH above the method detection limits. In addition, the water sample did not contain detectable concentrations of methane. The odor associated with the water that was described in the complaint may be related to the SRB in the well. The black particles may indicate scaling associated with sulfate and other minerals detected in the water. Proper treatment of the well to remove the bacteria may help to improve the overall quality of the water. Based on the information gathered to date, there are no indications of oil & gas related impacts to the water well. As a result, the complaint regarding potential impacts to groundwater quality is closed.
  • 2798 March 13, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator LIGHTING Description: see above Resolution: Two COGCC field inspectors, Jason Gomez and Craig Carlile visited the location to conduct a FLIR video survey (attached to inspection) and visit with the operation personnel. The location supervisor, Cory commented that during the last freezing weather the operation experienced an upset condition due to frozen pipes that resulted in an increased volume of gas being directed to the flare. As the freezing conditions were resolved the flaring gas was returned to normal volume. The plant does not have any truck traffic delivering or removing oil and gas products. Traffic at the location is limited to personal vehicles of the operational staff. During the day time inspection, it appeared that lighting was directed down into the location.
  • 3933 Aug. 4, 2010 Operator: Invalid Operator OTHER Description: On or around June 1 Resolution: 2010
  • 4000 April 6, 2010 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Surface owner contacted J. Axelson and D. Baldwin to express concern about potential impacts to water quality and water rights from O&G development in the area. Follow up contact between S. Lindblom and surface owner determined that collecting pre-development water samples from springs Resolution: domestic well and irrigation wells would be appropriate.
  • 3867 April 26, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Water well owner requested sample for baseline purposes. Apollo Operating has staked well locations on their property. There are also several producing O&G wells within 1-mile radius of water well located in SWSW Sec 20, T-7-N, R-64-W, Weld County. Resolution: Water quality results do not indicate any impacts related to existing oil & gas operations in vicinity. Summary letter sent on 5/25/11.
  • 3880 March 29, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Landowner called to request baseline water sampling in advance of O&G development in the area. SE Section 18 T6S R64W. water well permit number 214337. Resolution: Discussed with landowner that COGCC has one pending permit application in Elbert County in T6S R64W. At this time, will give priority to sampling wells in proximity to the pending permit. Provided website guidance and how to search for pending permits and how to search via MapGuide. Noted that COGCC would be happy to assist with providing sample parameters and lab contact information
  • 3910 Feb. 24, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: Complainant has had issues with odor in basement dating back to 2006. Odors were described as sewer odor until 2007 at which time it went away. In 2008 a new odor was described as gas smell. Complainant believes that the changes in odor correspond with drilling of nearby gas well. A radon mitigation system was recently installed over sump in basement and odor has subsided. Complainant is still concerned that gas could be getting into basement and is now being vented outside towards neighbors houses. Several other houses in development have had similar problems. Resolution: No indication of natural gas in exhaust of mitigation system from complainants basement. No evidence of problems with O&G wells in vicinity that could be source of odor. No evidence that suggests odors are related to O&G activity in any way.
  • 2688 Jan. 14, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator NOISE Description: *Location: Perhaps north of table mesa Resolution: by the government bldg on Broadway and 27th way.*There is noise early before sunrise at times
  • 3505 Aug. 28, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator PROPERTY DAMAGE Description: Gas seeps on Outcrop are increasing. Wants to know what BP is going to do about it. Resolution: Civil issue. Provided data to Mr. Varcoe and referred him back to BP. NFA.
  • 3287 July 24, 2013 Operator: Invalid Operator BASELINE WATER REQUEST Description: Mr. Adels requested water sample from domestic water well for baseline purposes. Water well is located in SW Sec 1, 8N54W, Logan County. Resolution: Well sampling did not indicate impacts from O&G operations. A. Eckman for J. Axelson
  • 2766 March 27, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: OGCC field staff received an anonymous phone call claiming a separator was malfunctioning around HWY 34 and CR49 Resolution: Complaint DOC#200427647. OGCC staff received anonymous tip that a separator was malfunctioning at HWY 34 and CR 49 on 3/27/15. OGCC staff went to the area on 3/27/15 and searched the area. OGCC staff made contact with field personnel from Noble and PDC and were told no separators were malfunctioning in the area. Noble had been already notified of the tip and had searched their locations for problems, no problems were found. PDC staff informed OGCC staff they would search the area and call if any problems were found. OGCC searched from HWY 34 and CR 49 to CR 44 and CR 49, no malfunctioning separators were found. OGCC staff also searched the area around CR 34 and CR 49, no issues found. Inspection DOC# 674102171
  • 2767 March 27, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator WATER WELL Description: *Location on concern: Water well issues on my property due to oil field work.* I have a bad odor in the water and at one point water was black. Strong sulfur odor. Daughter is breaking out in a rash. Has been worse the past 2 weeks. The sputtering from the methane gas is not there now but the other issues have got worse Resolution: Ms. Yauger's water well was sampled on March 26. Analytical sample results show Ms. Yauger's water well to have no water quality issues attributable to oil & gas. Her water well was positive for nuisance bacteria (TRB, SRB, and SFB) and had a detectable concentration of biogenic methane gas. Two summary letters, one for general water quality and one discussing the gas compositional and isotopic results, including all analytical lab reports, were sent to Ms. Yauger.
  • 1794 May 3, 2017 Operator: Invalid Operator PIPELINE Description: This is another complaint to COGCC on Anadarko related to my 190 acre Whitetail Development near the land planned for the future HCA Ames Community College South Campus? Site and Loves' Service Center under construction and recently completed sewer plant. These projects are annexed into Berthoud including Bill Gates 1600 acres south of the river. The old Panhandle gathering carries natural gas from the referenced wells near Mr. Hammerniks house south through my property and crosses the Little Thompson River. These old wells and related lines need to be P&A and removed. Resolution:
  • 2768 March 27, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator ROYALTY Description: Royalty checks never on time - the last royalty check was 2 months over due - I deposited check on 02-06-2015 and check was returned - redeposited on February 11th and it cleared. Attached are E-mails to mr Pandolfo and his responses to me and Mrs. Hugueley that are totally different excuses. I have called him several times since then with no response. Resolution:
  • 2772 March 24, 2015 Operator: Invalid Operator AIR QUALITY Description: *Location: The location is the field just north of our house. They are dumping fracking mud and fluid on the ground.* Air Quality/Odor, Dust, Ground Water/Water Well, Spills/Soil Contamination, Waste Management / Dumping I understand they have a permit . My concern is sometimes it smells like ammonia or paint thinner. Is some governmental agency checking on this? Is someone testing the dirt? I am very concerned. The dust is also a major issue. We live were there is alot of wind. The traffic is crazy. We moved here because it was quiet. The oil companies have ruined our quality of life. Resolution: COGCC inspected location. Land Application has ceased. Existing cuttings pile to be removed. Operator has submitted a Form 27 for final sampling.
  • 103 Aug. 14, 2018 Operator: Invalid Operator ROADS Description: Location of concern: Country Road 84, Fremont County Issue: It was our understanding that a minimum county road quality should be maintained for all roads frequented by oil and gas. As indicated, this is a county road and it is not being maintained to this standard. The washboards that exist are dangerous as they make it nearly impossible to maintain control at any speed. In fairness, the county grades every couple of months, but the quality of the road is so bad two weeks later that a small automobile has trouble maintaining control. We call the county regularly and we're told it is on the list, but that the list is large. Meanwhile, drivers on county road 84 are at risk. Given the speed at which the roads deteriorate after grading and the amount of daily traffic on this road, it appears it should be paved. Please come out and drive it yourself and let us know how we can escalate and to whom if this is not your office. Thank you Resolution: County road condition is not in the jurisdiction of the COGCC. Complaint was routed to Fremont County LGD
  • 2 Oct. 4, 2018 Operator: Extraction Oil & Gas Inc ROADS Description: There are several trucks in and out of the site every day and large amounts of dust and rocks on the road. Resolution:
  • 2164 April 6, 2016 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: 8:16 am Resolution: man at well tanks at the end of my driveway releasing gases from the tanks.
  • 2794 Oct. 31, 2014 Operator: Invalid Operator STORMWATER BMPs Description: Non-control of water run-off of well sites Resolution: The COGCC implemented a new public complaint process on January 8
  • 648 Oct. 26, 2017 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: We are located 1.5-2 miles southwest of fracking sides on south side of Erie Waste site. Strong petroleum odor. Smells like oil based paint. Winds are from northeast. Odor is described as Oil based paint, petroleum. Odor began 6/15/17. Residence is located 2 miles west of the source. Resolution:
  • 3463 Nov. 19, 2012 Operator: Invalid Operator ODOR Description: Odor in the porcupine creek area. The source is not knowen. Resolution: No source was found, no violations found.
  • 2209 Aug. 23, 2016 Operator: Invalid Operator NOT ENOUGH DATA Description: Location: Colorado pumping operations Issue: Property Damage, Earthquakes Resolution: COGCC staff reviewed the complaint and determined there was not enough information provided to investigate. No contact information provided to request further information. Therefore complaint was closed, due to insufficient information to investigate.
  • 3871 March 8, 2011 Operator: Invalid Operator OTHER Description: Lisa Bracken PO Box 30 Silt, CO 81652 Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission Linda Spry O’Rourk Environmental Protection specialist II 707 Wapiti Ct., suite 204 Rifle,CO 81650 March 08, 2011 Re: Complaint of thermogenic gas expressing into West Divide Creek Dear Mrs. O’Rourk, I am writing to inform the COGCC and other interested parties with jurisdiction in this matter, of the recently discovered presence of what appears to be thermogenic gas in West Divide Creek. Results from a soil/gas survey conducted on September 03, 2010 by Vista Geo-Science and EnCana Oil and Gas USA reveal the presence of heavier hydrocarbons together with a higher concentration of methane. These heavier hydrocarbons include ethane, propane, butanes and pentanes. Whereas EnCana has characterized this gas as “biogenic”, a July 2008 letter from Mr. Chesson of the COGCC stated: >>Begin letter<< "As you know since 2004, the COGCC staff has responded to your concerns about potential gas seepage along West Divide Creek on your property and to date we have not found any indication that the seepage you have observed is related to oil and gas activity. Last year both EnCana and COGCC investigated a similar allegation and samples were collected in November and December 2007. In 2004, I personally collected gas samples from your beaver ponds and at other locations of concern to you. Since 2004, samples have been collected at 9 different locations. These samples have been collected by COGCC staff and 3rd party consultants on behalf of EnCana. These samples have been analyzed for a variety of parameters including natural gas compounds (methane, ethane, propane, butane, pentane, hexanes), heavier hydrocarbon compounds including benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene, xylenes (BTEX), stable isotopes of methane, bacteria (iron related, sulfate reducing, and slime), major anions and cations, and other field and laboratory tests. To date, BTEX compounds have not been detected in any of the samples. Although methane has been detected, s Resolution: Complaint closed per Document Numbers: <br> <br>2437123 Rule Engineering 1/28/15 Status Report <br>400760870 Approved Sundry Submittal of Well Abandonment documentation <br>2313734 Monitoring Well Abandonment Form <br>2313735 Monitoring Well Abandonment Spreadsheet <br>1949129 Conditionally Approved Sundry proposing modifications to remediation program (reduction in sampling points and frequency and shut-off of air sparging system) . <br> <br>A. Fischer February 12, 2015

Spills

No spills in Lake County, Colorado have been reported to COGCC.

DBHLs

COGCC has approved no DBHLs operated in Lake County, Colorado.

NOAVs

COGCC has issued no NOAVs in Lake County, Colorado.

Inspections

There have been no COGCC inspections conducted in Lake County, Colorado.